Rather than sharing some delightful facts about Helvetica I thought I would share something a little more personal. Instead I will share the story of how the sender of this card (Karmen) and the receiver (your’s truly) became friends.

I am taken back to a time durning my graphic design classes. It was a fall semester in graphic design one (which I managed to take after two and three) and we were working on duplicating an entire font using a French Curve, Graphics 360 Paper and a Technical Pen. Which our design professor claimed would make us appreciate the power of computers; I’m sure he also enjoyed the widespread torture of completing 9/10 of a sheet only to mess up the last letter.  It was during this period that I first met Karmen and that was only because she stole my pen while I was making a coffee run. At that instant she became my friendenemy. Has time progressed we discovered we shared a mutual liking of coffee, Asian food, music and partying – however to this day she is “Enemy” in my phone.

Disclaimer: I didn’t pick Helvetica to reproduce, I thought it might be a little cliche even if is one of my personal favorites, instead I selected Officina Sans.

The Facts:
Other Party: Karmen M
Card Number: 0111
Average Color: 4B3F49
Date Sent: October 24, 2012
Date Received: Unknown
Sender Location: Taipei City, Taiwan
Receiver Location: Platteville, WI
Distance Traveled: 7334 Miles
Average Speed: Unknown

